« Last Edit: May 23, 2019, 10:49:57 AM by Schwartz » Logged Grievous69. STUDY AREA AND METHODS From 1972 to 1977, I studied the behavior of Great Blue Herons at the 15.8 km2 Yaquina estuary (44° 38'N, 124° 03'W) along the central Oregon coast. It was often tough for photography in there. At last, the heron drove the eagle off, after which things settled down. There are only a few recorded examples in the scientific literature where bald eagles have targeted an adult heron. The attack was a stunning moment, but the battle wasn’t over. This event took only one minute. What a battle! I am showing the story and pictures to my students who have been reading about beautiful birds of Africa. Nature and Wildlife Photography News and Updates, 2016 Husky Football: UW 44, Arizona State 18, 2016 Husky Football: USC 26, Washington 13. The handsome raptor was a strange character. It was a real treat to have so many opportunities to photograph such a beautiful raptor at close range (and from a low angle) like this. It seemed preoccupied with patrolling the pond, flying back and forth (directly over our heads) to each shore. 13:24:56. Earlier in the spring, I joined a few friends on a beach vacation at the Gulf of Mexico. Bald eagles are known to target great blue heron eggs and chicks. Please enable JavaScript to view this website. On my first afternoon at Zimanga, I had a session scheduled at the Lagoon Hide. Because of the low-hanging roof on this side of the hide, I could barely fit the combatants in the frame. I suppose the hide designers didn’t expect such a moment to occur at the lagoon! ALL of them! Glad you enjoyed the post. They’ve really put a lot of thought into the designs. Required fields are marked *. During this particular visit, I was often joined by a Great Blue Heron who would chill behind the fishermen all day in hopes of catching their catches. The written commentary, too, tells a dramatic tale of the wild. At last, the heron drove the eagle off, after which th